Inside the Book

The Book of Disquiet is a "non-book", composed of about 500 excerpts in prose that Fernando Pessoa did not organize into a volume. The Book we can leaf through today is the result of the work of editors who have chosen a certain order for the fragments. Different editors have found different logics for choosing and combining the pieces that compose it. We readers can choose the way to go – the order of the book or the disorder of our will.